Residents in these Cape Town areas must BOIL their tap water

The City of Cape Town is advising residents in parts of the eastern, central and southern suburbs to boil their tap water before drinking or cooking with it. Water in the distribution system coming from the Faure Water Treatment Plant is discoloured.


The City said the precautionary boil notice was prompted by a fault at the Faure Water Treatment Plant, which led to the water being discoloured. The sludge handling process at the plant was impacted by “the cumulative effects” of load shedding.

“This part of the treatment process cannot be augmented by generator capacity due to high energy demand,” said the City.

Water supply from the Faure plant has been stopped and the affected areas are now being fed water from the Blackheath Reservoir.

The City of Cape Town is currently conducting intensive water sampling and other tests. However, in the meantime, residents are asked to boil their water as a precaution.

“The affected areas are primarily south of the N2 reaching from Strand in the East through Khayelitsha, Mitchells Plain, Philippi to Plumstead and down into the Southern suburbs as far as about Muizenburg,” said the City.

The City said it anticipates that water quality will be normalised in the affected areas over the next few days.

Residents should use one of the following methods to purify their tap water:

  • Boil the water for at least a minute and store it in clean, sanitised containers.
  • Add household bleach to the water. One teaspoon of unperfumed bleach can disinfect 25 litres of water. Allow the water to stand for 30 minutes before using it.
  • Use water disinfection tablets.


Admirals Park, Airport, Anchorage Park, Antilles/ Cayman Beach, Barnet Molokwana Corner, Beacon Valley, Bell Glen, Bongani, Brandwacht, Broadlands, Broadlands ark, Broadlands Village, Chris Hani park, Colorado Park, Crossroads, Corydon Olive Estate, De Velde, Deaconville, Deepfreeze, Diep River, Dobson, Dreamworld, Driftsands, Eagle Park, Eastridge, Ekhuphumleni, Elfindale, Endlovini, Enkanini, Eyethu, Fairview Golf Estate, False Bay Coastal Park, Firgrove, Firgrove rural, Forest Village, George Park, Goedehoop, Good Hope, Gordon Heights, Gordon’s Bay, Gordon’s Bay Ext 12, Gordon’s Bay Village, Gordon’s Strand Estate, Graceland, Grassy Park, Greenways, Gugulethu, Hanover Park, Harare, Harbour Island, Harmony Village, Heartland, Beach Road Precinct, Heartland Historic Precinct, Heathfield, Helderberg Park, Highlands Village, Hyde Park, Ikwezi Park, Ilitha Park, Khaya, Khayalitsha, Kuyasa, Lakeside, Lansdowne, Lavender Hill, Lentegeur, Lotus River, Macassar, Macassar Beach, Macassar Village, Mall Interchange, Mandela Park, Manenberg, Mitchells Plain CBD, Monwabisi, Morgans Village, Mountainside, Mountainside Estate, Mountainside Ext 2, Muizenberg, Mxolosi Phetani, New Macassar, New Scheme, New Woodlands, Newfields, Nonqubela, Nyanga, Onverwacht – Gordons Bay, Onverwacht – The Strand, Ottery, Parkwood, Peaock Close, Pelikan Heights, Pelikan Park, Philippi, Philippi Park, Pinati Estate, Plumbstead, Portland, Protea Park – Gordon’s Bay, Retreat, Riverside, Rocklands, Rondevlei Park, Sabata Dalindyebo Square, Sand Industria, Sandvlei, Sea Breeze Park, Seawinds, Sercor Park, Silvertown – Khayelitsha, Sitari Country Estate, Smartie Town, Southfield, Southfork, St James, Steenberg, Strand, Strand Golf Club, Strandfontein, Tafelsig, Temporance Town, Thembokwezi, Twin Palms, Umrhabulo Triangle, Victoria Mxenge, Vrygrond, Weltevreden Valley, Westgage, Westridge- Mitchells Plain, Wetton, Wildwood, Wolfgat Nature Reserve, Woodlands and Zeekoevlei.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.