Uncategorized

A sad sight for the Springboks

The Springboks will be with four of the most lethal players in the world when they start their international campaign against Wales.

Dazzling backline stars Canan Moodie, Damian Willemse and Kurt-Lee Arendse all underwent surgery after sustaining injuries while on duty in the United Rugby Championship for the Bulls and Stormers, respectively.

As if these setbacks haven’t significantly reduced the Boks’ attacking arsenal, the back division’s injury woes were compounded by the now confirmed loss of star wing Cheslin Kolbe.

The two-time World Cup winner was released from the Springboks‘ 35-man squad in Pretoria in order to undergo scans on a knee injury, which will no doubt alarm South Africa fans.

Should the quartet of players all be ruled out for the South Africa’s first Test of the season against Wales at Twickenham on 22 June, it would not only limit head coach Rassie Erasmus’ selection options at the back, but also diminish the Springboks’ attacking firepower and playmaking abilities.

Bok ace Cheslin Kolbe. Image: Via Twitter.

SPRINGBOKS’ FULL 2024 TEST SCHEDULE

Mid-year Test fixtures

Saturday, 22 June: Springboks vs Wales (Twickenham, London)
Saturday, 6 July: SA vs Ireland (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria)
Saturday, 13 July: Springboks vs Ireland (Hollywoodbets Kings Park, Durban)
Saturday, 20 July: SA vs Portugal (Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein)

Rugby Championship fixtures

Saturday, 10 August: Australia vs SA (Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane)
Saturday, 17 August: Australia vs SA (Optus Stadium, Perth)
Saturday, 31 August: Springboks vs New Zealand (Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg)
Saturday, 7 September: SA v New Zealand (DHL Stadium, Cape Town)
Saturday, 21 September: Argentina v Springboks (Estadio Unico Madre de Ciudades, Santiago)
Saturday, 28 September: SA v Argentina (Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)

End-of-year-tour fixtures

Sunday, 10 November: Scotland vs Springboks (Murrayfield, Edinburgh)
Saturday, 16 November: England vs SA (Twickenham, London)
Saturday, 23 November: Wales vs Springboks (Principality Stadium, Cardiff)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *