MEET the new-new South Africa’s ‘class of 2024’

It’s time to meet South Africa’s nine provincial Premiers, plus the Speaker and Deputy of the National Assembly of the seventh administration. Voted in democratically as part of Mzansi’s second Government of National Unity in 30 years, six out of nine provinces had an outright majority, reports Business Tech

The incumbent African National Congress’ was unable to secure an outright majority in the May 29 election. As a result, South Africa’s new king and queen makers are the fruits of rigorous inter-party horse trading. The most contentious of these appointments were in Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal and the Northern Cape. Newly sworn-in Members of Parliament (MPs) cast their votes for these critical positions at the first sitting of Parliament last week at the Cape Town International Convention Centre.


Left to right: Speaker of National Assembly (Parliament), Angela Thokozile Didiza and Deputy Spealer Dr. Annelie Lotriet. Image: File
  • President: Cyril Ramaphosa (ANC)
  • Deputy President: Paul Mashatile (ANC)
  • Speaker of National Assembly (Parliament): Angela Thokozile Didiza (ANC)
  • Deputy Speaker of National Assembly (Parliament): Dr. Annelie Lotriet (DA)
  • Gauteng Premier: Panyaza Lesufi (ANC)
  • KwaZulu-Natal Premier: Thami Ntuli (IFP)
  • Western Cape Premier: Alan Winde (DA)
  • Northern Cape Premier: Dr. Zamani Saul (ANC)
  • Limpopo Premier: Dr. Phophi Ramathuba (ANC)
  • Eastern Cape Premier: Oscar Mabuyane (ANC)
  • North West Premier: Lazarus Mokgosi (ANC)
  • Mpumalanga Premier: Mandla Ndlovu (ANC)
  • Free State Premier: Maqueen Letsoha-Mathae (ANC)


The new-new South Africa’s Government of National Unity will see President Cyril Ramaphosa inaugurated for a third time at the Union Buildings this week. Image: File

Panyaza Lesufi was re-elected as Premier of South Africa’s economic hub unopposed with backing of partners in the Government of National Unity. As a result, the province is set to be governed through a ‘unity government’ across different political parties in the legislature. Thami Ntuli’s was a narrow victory in KwaZulu-Natal, receiving 41 votes, while MK’s Inkosi Phathisizwe Chiliza secured 39.

Meanwhile, Winde’s re-election in the Western Cape came after the DA secured an outright majority of the provincial vote. The ANC’s Dr. Zamani Saul was re-elected Premier of the Northern Cape, beating the DA’s Izak Fritz 19 votes to 11. The ANC won a majority of the seats in the Eastern Cape, Free State, Limpopo, Mpumlanga and North West provincial legislatures. Ramathuba is Limpopo province’s first female Premier. And another woman, Maqueen Letsoha-Mathae, was ANC Women’s league Treasurer-General.

President Cyril Ramaphosa will be inaugurated tomorrow (Wednesday 19 June 2024) at the Union Buildings in Pretoria for his third term of office.


South Africa’s
Why not have your say? Image: Duncan P Walker

What do you think of the make-up of South Africa’s new leaders? Be sure to share your thoughts with our audience in the comments section below. And don’t forget to follow us @TheSANews on X and The South African on Facebook for the latest updates.  

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *