Spanish Grand Prix final grid after ALL driver penalties

Lando Norris brushed aside the drama of his McLaren team’s hospitality unit catching fire to produce “the best lap of my life” and deny Max Verstappen pole position for the Spanish Grand Prix in qualifying on Saturday.

Sunday’s race will start at 15:00 (SA time).

Lewis Hamilton will start on the second row alongside his Mercedes team-mate George Russell.

Norris produced his 1:11.383 of magic after a “stressful” day when the McLaren hospitality unit caught fire before third practice.

McLaren team boss Zak Brown told Sky Sports one staff member had to go to hospital but had been discharged, adding: “Happy to report everyone is fine”.

Max Verstappen leads the championship

Verstappen, targeting a fourth straight world title, leads the championship by 56 points from Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, who starts Sunday’s race in fifth, with Norris seven points back in third.

Joining Leclerc on the third row will be his Ferrari team-mate and home favourite Carlos Sainz.

Next came the Alpine of Pierre Gasly, the second Red Bull of Sergio Perez, who has a three-place grid penalty from Canada, Esteban Ocon in the other Alpine and Oscar Piastri in the second McLaren.

This is the 10th round of the 24-race season and the first of a triple header with Austria and Silverstone coming up over the next two weekends.

Grid for the Spanish Grand Prix:

Front row

Lando Norris (GBR/McLaren)

Max Verstappen (NED/Red Bull)

2nd row

Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes)

George Russell (GBR/Mercedes)

3rd row

Charles Leclerc (MON/Ferrari)

Carlos Sainz  (ESP/Ferrari)

4th row

Pierre Gasly (FRA/Alpine)

Esteban Ocon (FRA/Alpine)

5th row

Oscar Piastri (AUS/McLaren)

Fernando Alonso (ESP/Aston Martin)

6th row

*Sergio Perez (MEX/Red Bull)

Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Sauber)

7th row

Nico Hulkenberg (GER/Haas)

Lance Stroll (CAN/Aston Martin)

8th row

Zhou Guanyu (CHN/Sauber)

Kevin Magnussen (DEN/Haas)

9th row

Yuki Tsunoda (JPN/RB)

Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/RB)

10th row

Alex Albon (THA/Williams)

Logan Sargeant (USA/Williams)

* Sergio Perez qualified eighth, but has a three-place penalty carried over from the Canadian Grand Prix

Source link

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *