ANC and DA finally reach agreement on cabinet positions- Report

The African National Congress (ANC) has reportedly reached an agreement with the Democratic Alliance (DA) over cabinet positions following weeks of negotiations.

Following the historic outcome of the 29 May National and Provincial Elections, the ANC resorted to forming a Government of National Unity (GNU) with other political parties in order to govern the country.


The South African previously reported South Africa has been without a Cabinet and executive for two weeks, marking a pedestrian start to Ramaphosa’s second term as president.

Ramaphosa’s delay in naming an executive is a consequence of tough negotiations between parties making up the GNU, namely the DA, Inkatha Freedom Party, Patriotic Alliance, Good party and the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania. However, the wrangling seemed to be specifically between the Ramaphosa-led ANC and the John Steenhuisen-led DA, with letters from both parties this week revealing a nasty fight for Cabinet and executive positions.

In a leaked letter to Fikile Mbalula, Helen Zille said they want the DA to be represented across the board. This would include key departments such as mineral resources and energy, transport, trade, and industry, as well as public works, higher education and public service and administration, home affairs, justice, international relations and communication, and digital technologies. 

Zille also said they want a review of all tenders awarded since the elections in departments where it will have ministerial control. 

The party also insisted that the contracts of director generals in these departments be terminated in favour of DA-approved appointments


On Friday, ANC Secretary-General Fikile Mbalula dropped a hint that talks on the government of national unity (GNU) might be concluded soon.

“Good morning South Africa almost done with GNU discussions, In the best interest of all south africans . It will be done as promised,” he wrote.

According to reports, the DA will be in charge of six portfolios including:

  • Agriculture and rural development
  • Public Works and Infrastructure
  • Home Affairs
  • Basic Education
  • Forestry, fisheries and environmental affairs
  • Communication and digital technology

The DA will have six of its members as deputies in the following portfolios:

  • Trade, industry and competition
  • Finance
  • Water and Sanitation
  • Higher Education

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *