New-look Bomb Squad under Rassie Erasmus

The Springboks have a new-look bomb squad with three new faces featured on the bench.

The Springboks bomb squad looks very different to the one from the 2023 Rugby World Cup. In fact, there are major changes amongst the backs and forwards. It must be noted that some changes are injury enforced.

Meanwhile, Rassie Erasmus named his 23-man squad to take on Ireland in the blockbuster test series opener against Ireland at Loftus on Saturday.

Kick-off is at 17:05 SA time.


The starting XV is pretty much what everyone expected. However, it is amongst the Springboks bench (the Bomb Squad) where several interesting selections have been made. Rassie has opted for a 6-2 split. Thus, forming a new-look bomb squad.

Firstly, Bulls prop Gerhard Steenakamp is rewarded for a massive URC season. So, Steven Kitshoff injury has opened the door for him. Usually, Kitshoff will start with OX Nche taking up the first position in the Bomb Squad. Now, Ox is starting with Steenalkamp earning promotion into the Bok Bomb squad. Furthermore, it is worth noting that he was selected ahead of Bok veteran Trevor Nyakane.

Meanwhile, Salmaan Moerat has some big boots to fill. Furthermore, Lood de Jager has had to undergo surgery. Additionally, Jean Kleyn is out injured too. Meaning, Moerat has the chance to step up having missed out on RWC selection. He also missed large portions of rugby due to injury so this could be the start of his redemption story.

Finally, Sacha Feinberg- Mngomezulu has the opportunity of a lifetime. Moreover, he is set to cover flyhallf, centre and fullback. Therefore, he will replace Handre Pollard, Damien de Allende or Willie Le Roux.Meaning, the 22-year old could feature at fly half, inside centre of flyhallf. So, regardless of who he replaces, he will have massive boots to fill. He steps in for Rugby World Cup here, Damian Willemse with Le Roy returning to the starting XV.


15 – Willie le Roux (Vodacom Bulls) – 93 caps, 75 pts (15t)
14 – Cheslin Kolbe (Suntory Sungoliath) – 31 caps, 91 points (14t, 3c, 5p)
13 – Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles) – 67 caps, 80 points (16t)
12 – Damian de Allende (Wild Knights) – 78 caps, 55 points (11t)
11 – Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls) – 15 caps, 65 points (13t)
10 – Handré Pollard (Leicester Tigers) – 69 caps, 698 points (7t, 96c, 152p, 5dg)
9 – Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles) – 56 caps, 50 points (5t, 5c, 5pg)

8 – Kwagga Smith (Shizuoka Blue Revs) – 41 caps, 35 pts (7t)
7 – Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz) 78 caps, 40 points (8t)
6 – Siya Kolisi (captain, Racing 92) – 83 caps, 50 points (10t)
5 – Franco Mostert (Honda Heat) – 74 caps, 15 points (3t)
4 – Eben Etzebeth (Hollywoodbets Sharks) – 120 caps, 30 points (6t)
3 – Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers) – 70 caps, 5 points (1t)
2 – Bongi Mbonambi (Hollywoodbets Sharks) – 69 caps, 70 points (14t)
1 – Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks) – 28 caps, 0 pts


16 – Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears) – 65 caps, 85 points (17t)
17 – Gerhard Steenekamp (Vodacom Bulls) – 1 cap, 0 points
18 – Vincent Koch (Hollywoodbets Sharks) – 50 caps, 5 points (1t)
19 – Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers) – 4 caps, 0 points
20 – RG Snyman (Leinster) – 34 caps, 10 points (2t)
21 – Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls) – 18 caps, 0 pts
22 – Grant Williams (Hollywoodbets Sharks) – 9 caps, 10 points (2t)
23 – Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (DHL Stormers) – 1 cap, 7 points (2c, 1p)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *