Currie Cup news: WP hand out six debuts

There will be six players making their Western Province debut in the Carling Currie Cup clash with the Bulls at DHL Stadium on Sunday.

DHL Western Province begin their Carling Currie Cup campaign with a North-South showdown, which kicks off at 15h00 on Sunday at DHL Stadium.

The first weekend of the Currie Cup sees all eight teams in action.

Willie Engelbrecht will captain WP in Currie Cup

Loose forward Willie Engelbrecht will captain a team that will see wing Courtnall Skosan, centre Wandisile Simelane, flank CJ Velleman, props Lizo Gqoboka and Vernon Matongo and lock Hendre Stassen all make their first appearance for DHL Western Province.

Director of Rugby John Dobson said that while there are a few players pulling on the blue and white jersey for the first time, there is still a pleasing amount of experience among the matchday squad.

“Five of the six players making their debut are experienced players, with just Vernon Matongo having recently graduated from the junior ranks. We also have a player like Labib Kannemeyer back in the team after some excellent form for his club SK Walmers.

“We are really excited to see what these combinations can do and we are well-aware that we will need to hit the ground running against a strong and well-prepared Vodacom Bulls side.

“It is fantastic to start our season at DHL Stadium and the players cannot wait to get out there in front of our fans again.

“There are a number of players who are really hungry to perform, so this will be a great opportunity for them to show our supporters what they can do,” he said.

Tickets are still available for the match.

Western Province team to face the Bulls

DHL Western Province: 15. Luke Burger 14. Courtnall Skosan 13. Wandisile Simelane 12. Jean-Luc du Plessis 11. Angelo Davids 10. Jurie Matthee 9. Imad Khan 8. Willie Engelbrecht (captain) 7. Connor Evans 6. CJ Velleman 5. Gary Porter 4. Adre Smith 3. Sazi Sandi 2. JJ Kotze 1. Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements: 16. Scarra Ntubeni 17. Vernon Matongo 18. Corne Weilbach 19. Hendre Stassen 20. Paul de Villiers 21. Louw Nel 22. Labib Kannemeyer 23. Damian Markus.

Source link

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *